The Importance of Marketing

Image: photostock / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image: photostock / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Without marketing nobody will know about your company. They will not your brand, what you have to offer and why they should buy from you rather than somebody else.

As a startup business I would say that I spend half my time marketing my business. You can never do enough marketing. The whole point of setting up a business is to sell, and it is difficult to sell without marketing your product.

What marketing have I done to start to get my brand known?

  • My first marketing task was to send an email to friends about my company, Bambino Boo, giving them a discount code and asking them to send the email onto their friends and family.
  • I quickly realised that I needed to get up to speed on SEO so that people could find Bambino Boo when they search for keywords such as Children Clothing Boutique on Google, Bing and Yahoo.
  • I also did a lot of PPC advertising on Google Adwords and then Bing as it takes a while for any SEO work to come into effect.
  • I learnt social media from scratch, setting up a Facebook page, and getting ‘likes’. A few weeks later I set up a Twitter account and started sending tweets, slowly getting more and more followers.
  • I sent out the occassional newsletter to purchasers and registrations, targeting these people with offers.
  • I created postcards and placed them in independent shops such as childrens hairdressers, toy shops and gift shops.
  • I have recently started writing articles such as that on Family Friendly Working, a book and website, to get more visibility for my business.
  • In the past month I have started another blog called Toddlers Clothes, that I hope to eventually integrate into Bambino Boo, again to get my business better known.

By doing various marketing activities and doing a bit of marketing every day in time Bambino Boo will have more and more visibility. I see the business and my experience of starting up as a journey and this is just the beginning!

This entry was posted in Bambino Boo, Marketing for Start-Ups, SEO and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

