I Decided to Get a Coach

Image: Ambro / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I first decided to get a coach when I was on Netmums and I saw coaches advertising their services. 

Why did I decide to get a coach? Did I really need one? I felt that I could do with one to help me on the path that I had decided to take, and so that I would have some support and give me the best possible chance of success.  I had read that so many businesses fail within the first year and that business owners that have support and that ask for and get information from a wide variety of sources were most likely to succeed.

So, after having an initial discussion with the life coach, Sandra Hale, and telling her that I had recently set up my mumpreneur business, Bambino Boo, I decided to have a series of telephone meetings with her.  During these meetings we talked about loads of things, such as, work/life balance, having confidence in what I am doing and the business and what I wanted my end goal to be – being the largest online discount designer childrens clothing retailer.  All powerful stuff and important when working on the business to start to work towards my end goal.

After about 10 telephone meetings, Sandra put me in touch with a business coach, Sabina Bronicka. After an initial conversation with Sabina, I decided to have a series of sessions with her.  Sabina’s approach was totally different and when we spoke we talked purely about business and business objectives. Again, I found business coaching very useful. I sent Sabina my business plan and while she was questioning me about my business plan, it felt like I was on Dragons Den!

After each session, I had a bit of homework to do – working on my business rather than in my business. Homework included updating my business plan and ensuring that I was using it on a regular basis. If I had to make a decision I was to go back to my business plan to see what my initial idea and approach to the business was to help me make a decision.  Other bits of homework was looking at the number of target sales vs actual sales and noting down what could be done to bridge the gap. From this we could then add SMART objectives.

As you can see from my experience of coaching, I think that it is so useful and has definitely helped me and my business.

Has anybody else had coaching? What were your experiences of it?

This entry was posted in Bambino Boo, Business Review, Coaching, Support and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

